Garracloon National School
History of Our School
Scoil Naomh Padraig, as it is now know was built by the Earl of Arran in 1855 and was officially opened as a national school on 28th February 1858. In 1882 the school was handed over to the Administrator of Backs, Rev. John Conmy. Up until 1920 there was a separate school for the boys and and one for the girls. Over the years there have been many changes and improvements made to the school, with the introduction of inside toilets in 1969 and central heating in 1976. However, the original building has always remained in use, with the addition of new classrooms in 2003.
The School Today
The school itself is situated in a scenic rural setting close to Lough Conn approximately 2.5 miles from Ballina town. It is a two teacher school with a shared special education teacher. Mrs. McHale, our principal, teaches the senior classes while Mrs. Devine, Deputy Principal, teaches the junior classes. The school boasts a large yard which was recently resurfaced with new tarmac in 2019 under the Summer Works Scheme, a separate soft play area for younger children which we hope to extend with artificial grass. We also have a football pitch complete with goalposts. Under the Summer Works Scheme 2022, new windows and doors were installed.
The school is very fortunate to have an active Parents Association who assist the school in every way possible.
Garracloon National School is a co-educational, Catholic, primary school which strives to provide a well ordered, caring, happy and secure atmosphere for pupils, teachers and all ancillary staff. While it is a school with a catholic ethos, it also has recognition for all other religions. It will endeavour to enhance the self esteem of everyone in the school community, to imbue in the pupils respect for people and property and to encourage in them the idea of being responsible.